Drink of The Week (Or Month…)



Is there anything that arouses more nostalgia about the Atomic Age than a classic, well made cocktail? Rhetorical question or not, I’d say, barring some interior design, no, there isn’t. From the dirty martini to the scotch and soda, the heyday of the cocktail was most certainly the mid-twentieth century. Although they seem to be enjoying, and I think most of us are too, a renaissance as of the past decade or so, nothing quite says Space Age party like an exotica record, skinny ties, or a new dress and a good cocktail.

So, hopefully, starting with this post, I will be featuring a classic cocktail every week (or month, depending on how much I’ve exhausted my memory bank) to try out at your next party. Or, you know, any time, really.

This week, as the inaugural cocktail, I’m going with the Manhattan. My many, many fond memories of alcohol start with this drink. I still remember sitting in the kitchen watching my aunts and uncles mixing these up when visiting family for christmas. Later, it was the first, proper, drink I ever learned how to make and I feel like its a cocktail that has been completely overlooked in modern society, which is a shame. Here’s how to make one:

2 fluid ounces whiskey
1/2 fluid ounce sweet vermouth
1 dash bitters (optional)
1 cup ice cubes
1 maraschino cherry for garnish

Place ice in a mixing glass. Pour in vermouth, then whiskey, and stir. Strain into a cocktail glass. Add a dash of bitters if desired, and garnish with a cherry.

Enjoy and let me know how they turn out.

Photo Source.
Recipe Source.

~ by arielviews on November 30, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
