Computer Space.

Computer Space, the first commercially available, coin operated video game turned 40 today making a lot of us feel both older and nerdier simultaneously.

This game, to me, represents the beginning of the end of the Atomic Age and the start of the Digital Age. However, one can’t deny the greatness of the retro gameplay and design, as well as the scifi theme. More info from Wikipedia:

released in November 1971 by Nutting Associates. Created by Nolan Bushnell and Ted Dabney, who would both later found Atari, Inc., it is generally accepted that it was the world’s first commercially sold coin-operated video game — and indeed, the first commercially sold video game of any kind, predating the Magnavox Odyssey’s release by six months, and Atari’s Pong by one year. Though not commercially sold, the coin operated minicomputer-driven Galaxy Game preceded it by two months, located solely at Stanford University.

My dad had a Magnavox Odyssey. An orginal one, too, not the Odyssey 2. I remember my brother and I finding it in storage in the basement and tearing into pong on our old black and white tv… but that’s another post, I suppose…

~ by arielviews on December 13, 2011.

2 Responses to “Computer Space.”

  1. The “Computer Space” console has a small guest roll in “Soylent Green”, standing in the flat of that woman.

  2. I remember playing one of them it was dark blue with metal flake. Every one I saw after that seemed to be a different color. Or it might just be my memory failing,

Leave a comment