Drink of The Week: Martini.


Just in time for the weekend, here’s a drink we all know, and probably all know how to make in one form or another. However, I think the martini has been bastardized over the last decade or so and so here is a more classic approach to the drink.

Dry Martini:

First, fill a martini glass with ice and set aside.

In a shaker add ice, 2 1/2 oz. of Gin and 1/2 oz of Dry Vermouth and shake.
Dump the ice from the martini glass and strain the drink into it.
Garnish with either an olive or a twist of lemon.

When I make gin martinis I like to use a lemon zest.

Which leads me to the dirty martini, my favorite form of the cocktail. To make one of those just replace the gin with vodka, cut the vermouth in half and add olive brine to taste. I like mine really dirty so I add a good half oz of brine. Serve the same way and garnish with some olives.

Enjoy.

~ by arielviews on January 13, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
